Skip to content

Commander / Magic 2012 / Innistrad Update! (part 1)

November 8, 2011

So, Summer has come and gone, and with it brought quite a few cards to update the cube with. Commander brings some interesting utility creatures, the new Magic 2012 Core Set brings new planeswalkers and aggro creatures, and Innistrad even more planeswalkers and black creatures! I’ve also cut down on the guild cards by one slot per guild, and added a few other random updates for blue and colorless. Change list after the jump!

Change List

Out –> In

Rakdos Carnarium –> Lavaclaw Reaches

Bottle Gnomes –> Spellskite
Sphere of the Suns –> Engineered Explosives
NEW –> Smokestack

Loxodon Heirarch –> OUT
Firespout –> OUT
Wrecking Ball –> OUT
Recoil –> OUT
Spitemare –> OUT
Gelectrode –> OUT
Temporal Spring –> OUT
Glissa, the Traitor –> OUT
Plumeveil –> OUT
Mortify –> OUT
Spitting Image –> Edric, Spymaster of Trest

Arrest –> Stoneforge Mystic
Battlegrace Angel –> Cloistered Youth
Prison Term –> Fiend Hunter

Evolution Charm –> Garruk, Primal Hunter
Mold Shambler –> Scavenging Ooze
Harmonize –> Garruk Relentless
Fallow Earth –> Bramblecrush

Goblin Wardriver –> Stormblood Berserker
Hell-Bent Raider –> Chandra’s Phoenix
Hellkite Charger –> Chandra, the Firebrand
Banefire –> Devil’s Play
Words of War –> Searing Blaze

Grasp of Darkness –> Sudden Death
Night’s Whisper –> Diregraf Ghoul
Yawgmoth’s Bargain –> Bloodgift Demon
Thrashing Wumpus –> Bloodline Keeper

Voidmage Prodigy –> Glen Elendra Archmage
Ponder –> Psionic Blast
Inkwell Leviathan –> Jace, Memory Adept
Opposition –> OUT

Most of these changes are like for like. I’m going to be reconfiguring a couple of the changes (hence the “Part 1” title), but these are mostly finalized. If you have any suggestions or questions feel free to comment!

From → Cube Updates

2 Comments
  1. I think these changes look good. Glen Elendra in particular is so awesome I almost want to remove her just to put her back in 🙂 I’d try to fit Skinshifter in (maybe for Beastbreaker?) and here, Gelectrode has been better and fills a more unique role than Spellbound Dragon. But that’s probably dependent on the kind of UR deck you like to build.

    I’m assuming that Liliana is going in, and you don’t proxy?

    There are many more possible Innistrad cards, but I get that not everyone likes the same cards, and some are avoiding DFC as much as possible. On the other hand, we’ve already removed Bloodline Keeper for being too slow/awkward, but we still have: Olivia, Geist of St Traft, Geist-Honored Monk, Midnight Haunting, Kessig Wolf Run, Kessig Cagebreakers, Reckless Waif, Stromkirk Noble, Instigator Gang, Brimstone Volley, Vampire Interloper, Mindshrieker, Gavony Township. And probably something else!

    • Thanks for looking!

      Some of these changes were made earlier this summer, as Commander and M12 came out. For instance, Glen Elendra Archmage has already been doing great as I knew it would.

      I think Spellbound Dragon is pretty cool. I mentioned him on the MTGS forums as filling in a slot in the curve that both red and blue don’t have much in, and he’s quite a beating once he’s online. It’s also an example of the kind of philosophy I’ve been gravitating toward for my gold cards recently, that the cards should feel like powerful cards that make you want to draft those colors or a particular archetype. Gelectrode doesn’t really feel like that kind of card to me. Dropping Mortify rather than Angel of Despair is another example of that kind of choice.

      Skinshifter is a card I think I would like to fit in based on my experience with him in constructed. I may drop Mtenda Lion, or Beastbreaker, or something else, I’m not sure. This is something also to think about in the context of green’s role as a color as well. It seems a lot of people are trying out dropping the hard aggro critters in green. It’s not something I’m really willing to do completely, but I have a few cards that are clearly weaker than others in that respect, and could see dropping them in favor of ‘bigger’ green aggressive cards.

      Liliana will be going in the first chance I get one! I’ve managed to get quite a few Garruks from Innistrad, but no Lilianas as of yet. I proxy some expensive cards for protection/security (or if I temporarily need them for constructed), but only if I own them.

      I like Bloodline Keeper so far. Seems good for black to have a way of creating more creature threats that aren’t the usual removal-on-a-stick. Should also work well in the Stax based decks. I expect him to shine especially well in the rock-like 3-color builds.

      Olivia is slated to come in for Void in the “part 2” update. Void is cool, but ultimately expensive. I’m considering most of the cards you listed as well, but I think I can take my time on most of them, and some will make some hard decisions (particularly the white cards). I’m growing tired of Goblin Patrol and have heard the Noble makes a good replacement. Mindshrieker will have to make some crazy plays in other cubes before I think about it (as cool as it seems) considering blue’s stiff competition – Snapcaster Mage is causing more tough decisions already. 🙂

      Again, thanks for the input!

Leave a Reply

