Skip to content

Multicolor Mixup – Selesnya

December 2, 2011

In my last post, I discussed how I would be changing some of the multicolor cards in my cube to better suit the deck archetypes I see and want in my cube decks. It’s time to take action and implement some more of those changes!

We’ll start with Selesnya. My current section is this:

Temple Garden
Stirring Wildwood
Razorverge Thicket
Horizon Canopy

Loam Lion
Qasali Pridemage
Behemoth Sledge
Kitchen Finks

Generally speaking, Selesnya is in a great place. The lands are the best I have available (I would not count ABU duals or fetches part of the guilds). Let’s consider each of the others on a case-by-case basis:

 Loam Lion – This is a very efficient aggro critter, and encourages drawing someone into playing forests. I’m not cutting this.

Qasali Pridemage – Pridemage is a great aggro creature, with one of the best utility abilities available. No change needed.

Behemoth Sledge – Honestly, inefficient. It’s in a decent color combination, but one that can generally rely on its creatures being bigger than the competition already. Loxodon Warhammer, a comparable *colorless* card, has already been cut from the cube. I’m going to cut this to make room for a much better archetype-enabling card.

Kitchen Finks – This is great for aggro mirrors and blink strategies, and easy to cast.

So, if Behemoth Sledge isn’t cutting it, what will?

Image

Gavony Township – Following the recommendation of Matt “Kranny” Kranstuber, I’m adding this in to further support token strategies. Essentially, this is an uncounterable anthem with multikicker, and from its performance in constructed and limited, one can easily see how improving your creatures over time can become overwhelming for your opponent. Since its effect scales with the number of creatures you have, it encourages exploring a specific archetype during the draft.

And that’s it! Join me next post for Gruul!

Leave a Reply

